Color Modes

Color Modes

Whether you are printing your project on an offset or a digital press, color modes are incredibly important. Please check your color settings prior to submitting your work to us to ensure we produce your project with the most pleasing results.

4-Color Artwork

The most common color mode for print is 4-Color, also called “Process Colors.” The four colors are Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and K Black (Black is referred to as “K”). These jobs use pleasing colors that do not require a specific spot color (PMS Color).

If you do not convert your files and images to 4-Color/CMYK, our process will convert the colors for you. This process can be tricky. If your brand is color-conscious, unwanted results will more than likely appear. This is where PMS colors come in, in which you are likely to achieve a more desirable outcome.

PMS Color

A PMS color is one of the other common color modes. We use PMS colors to ensure cohesive color throughout pieces and mediums. These are also called “Spot Colors” because they are a solid color and not made from the four process colors. Jobs using one or more PMS colors often cost more and are for brands strict on their color brand guidelines. For example, certain brands actually have trademarked specific PMS colors to ensure that no other business can ever use that exact one. This may sound crazy to you, but when you see Barbie pink or Tiffany blue, these are instantly recognizable, right? Brands know this and have used it to their advantage in their marketing efforts.


Greyscale is a solid black that creates a variety of tones. Even if the rest of your document is in 4-Color, you want all images that are black to maintain greyscale so you don’t see fragments of color around the black-only image.


Helpful Hints

March 14, 2019

(1 min. read)

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.